Susanne Dunlap

Welcome to my new blog!

In Uncategorized on June 17, 2010 at 1:04 pm

I finally decided to stop waiting for my iWeb application to allow comments on my blog posts and set up something new. This is not a blog with a definite theme, because frankly, I’m all over the place just now. I write YA historical fiction. Adult historical fiction. I coach writers. So this is just for me to put down random thoughts that are too long for a Facebook update and much too long to tweet, and give my friends and fans an opportunity to tell me I’m brilliant…or not.

What I would love is a dialogue.

But now, about ME! 🙂

Those who know me understand that I have recently left a full-time day job to devote myself to writing and other opportunities. Read between the lines: I’m scared as heck as to where the money to pay my bills next month will come from.

But those who know me also know that I have always been the sort to take a leap of faith: moving to England right after college; moving back to New York to try to save my family; going back to grad school so I could spend more time raising my children; coming back to New York to…be in New York.

It’s truly a leap of faith this time, though. Perhaps I feel that my time has come. I’m no child. In fact, I’m a doting grandmother of one, soon to be two. I’ve had my ups and downs and never been solid financially. But the most amazing thing is that somehow I’ve managed to carve out a career as a novelist. I think four books published and two more on the way qualifies as a career, don’t you?

I’ve asked myself since leaving my job why I did it. I always envied other writers who could devote themselves to their craft, but the reality is that most cannot. I was by no means an anomaly. OK, so the job was not ideal, but I won’t go into that here.

Perhaps it was an event, more than anything, that pushed me over the edge. My younger daughter was in a terrible accident and sustained a life-threatening injury. She is fine, doing well, and will make a full recovery. But such brushes with tragedy can serve as a wake-up call. We are each given one life to make something of. After so many false starts in mine, I want to do one thing wholeheartedly, to the absolute best of my ability.

I was one of those women who took to heart Virginia Woolf’s words, “A woman must have money and a room of her own to write fiction.”

I’ve got the room. And for one month more, I’ve also got the money. I can use all the positive thinking of my friends, fans, acquaintances etc. to help me go forward in my new life.

Now, enough about me. Tomorrow (or the next day), I’m going to talk about writing.

  1. Best of luck on your new adventures. Looking forward to following your blog.

  2. Gee, I’d just hate to delete Mr. WordPress’s comment. Do you think he’ll be offended?

  3. As recent addition to your list of admirers I look forward to reading all sorts of tasty tidbits. So to speak.

  4. Good for you following your dreams! It’s good to meet you. 🙂

    – Corra

    The Victorian Heroine

Leave a Reply

